今天(8星期五播出)th 11月2019日),Finders International的MD Danny Curran与受益人玛格丽特·阿伯茨(Margaret Abbotts)在“今早”做客,后者从一个长期失散的同父异母的妹妹那里继承了300k英镑,她从未听说过这个妹妹。

玛格丽特(Margret)出生于伦敦的1938,父亲在10个月大时就离开了母亲。 她的母亲曾提起玛格丽特的同父异母的妹妹玛丽·梅杰(Mary Major),这是她父亲在玛格丽特(Margret)的母亲和19遇到之前出生的孩子。

玛格丽特过着艰难的生活,在1940期间患有多种疾病,包括白喉和小儿麻痹症,使她在战争期间因多次空袭而住院。

遗嘱认证家谱小组成员给玛格丽特的一封信详细说明了玛丽一生中没有遗嘱,而且作为其同父异母的妹妹,她有权获得玛丽去世后留下的遗产。 玛丽去世时,她所有资产的总价值约为300,000英镑,对玛格丽特来说是一笔改变人生的数字。

丹尼·柯兰(Danny Curran)在今天早上的讲话中说:“玛格丽特的案子很典型,因为她最初的反应是,这可能是我将信丢进垃圾箱的骗局,但我们坚持不懈。 这个案件的另一个奇怪的方面是,已经有一个堂兄提出索赔,因此我们正在核实该堂兄是真正的索赔人。 但是随着事情的发展,我们找到了先前的索赔人。 玛格丽特本人因此继承了整个遗产,这当然使堂兄们失望了,但依法做了正确的事,玛格丽特从中受益。

“在很多情况下,我们都会发现进一步的意愿。 我们并非总能立即找到遗嘱,但在所有尽职调查和搜索完成之后,在玛格丽特的情况下,没有遗嘱,我们得以继续进行。 经过一年左右的清盘工作,结果她(玛格丽特)的状况更好了。”

不幸的是,就像玛丽·梅杰(Mary Major)一样,有好几种情况。 对于每宗无人认领的财产,至少有一个意外的继承人,不知道他们的生活可能会改变。 如果您知道最近去世的人 没有已知的近亲 继承他们的财产, 联系我们的遗嘱家谱团队成员 引用他们的案子。 我们可以追溯他们的过去,找到一个有资格的亲属,确保他们的资产转移给家庭成员,而不是王室。

如果您认为自己可以成为有资格的亲属,请搜索 无人认领的遗产清单。 就像玛格丽特一样,你可能是一个意想不到的继承人。

有关今天嘉宾的幕后花絮,请关注我们 Instagram 和Twitter帐户。

On Air today (Friday 8th November 2019), Finders International’s MD Danny Curran made a guest appearance on This Morning with Beneficiary Margaret Abbotts, who inherited £300k from a long-lost half-sister who she never knew existed.

Margret was born in London in 1938, her father left her mother when she was just 10 months old. Her mother had spoken of Mary Major, Margaret’s half-sister, a child of her father’s born before he had met Margret’s mother and 19.

Margaret had a very hard life, suffering from numerous illnesses during the 1940s, including diphtheria and polio, hospitalising her for many of the air raids during the war.

A letter from a member of our probate genealogy team to Margret detailed that Mary had made no will during her life and that as her half-sister, she was entitled to the estate Mary had left behind after her passing. The total figure from all Mary’s assets at the time of her death came to around £300,000, a life-changing sum for Margret.

Speaking to This Morning Danny Curran said, “Margaret’s case was typical in that her initial reaction was, this might be a scam I’m going to throw the letter in the bin, but we persisted with it, of course. And the other strange aspect of this case is that there was already a cousin making a claim so we were verifying that the cousin was a genuine claimant. But as it transpired, we then found a prior claimant; Margaret herself so she inherited the whole estate which of course, left the cousins disappointed but legally the correct thing had been done, and Margaret benefited from it.”

“Many cases we do, we find a will further into the process. We don’t always find a will straight away but in Margaret’s case after all the due diligence and the searches were done, and there was no will, and we were able to proceed. After a year or so it takes to wind up the estate, she (Margaret) was better off as a result.”

Unfortunately, there are several cases just like that of Mary Major. With every case of an unclaimed estate, there is at least one unexpected heir, not knowing their life could be about to change. If you know of a person who has recently deceased without a known next of kin to inherit their estate, contact a member of our probate genealogy team to refer their case. We can trace their past to find an entitled relative, ensuring their assets pass to a family member and not the crown.

If you believe you could be an entitled relative, search the Unclaimed Estates List. You may be an unexpected heir, just like Margret.

For behind the scenes footage from today’s guest appearance, follow us on our Instagram and Twitter accounts.