男人继承了来自未知祖父的70K彩票

一个男人从他的祖父那里继承了一笔改变生活费用的70,000,他甚至都不知道。

31的Nick Christou一生都认为,在Jim Ross与他的妻子以及他们的小女儿在1980中失去联系后,他没有祖父。 尼克的母亲从来没有和她爸爸讨论过,直到他的祖母收到芬兰国际的一封信给她的妹妹寻找吉姆的亲戚,他认为他的祖父。

尼克最初认为这是一个骗局:“我以为自己'我怀疑这是真的'得到一封信,说我可能有资格获得我祖父的4000左右的资产 - 5000。”

“一个我从来不知道的男人,尤其是当那里有那么多骗局时”。

“我离开了几个月,当我和妻子坐在车里时,我心里想着'如果那里有什么东西?'”。

麦克唐纳在西林的经理尼克决定追究这一说法,但发现他的祖母错误地放了首字母。

寻找发现者

在她提到我们的名字以及在Jim Ross庄园工作的案件工作者的名字之后,尼克没有被吓倒,他的祖母指向Finders International。 在对公司大楼进行研究后,他决定与我们取得联系。

但事实证明,4000-£5000还有更多的利害关系,当律师访问Jim的银行账户并发现其中有一个170,000账户时,就会发现这一点。 吉姆罗斯过去曾经是一个非常成功的彩票集团的成员,这意味着该地产比Finders最初认为的要大得多。

尼克的遗产份额 - 来自一个他从未知道或甚至被告知存在的人 - 来到了70,000。 “说实话,我觉得有点麻木”,NIck说。 “我让它陷入其中,我认为这可能改变我们作为一个家庭的生活”

“我现在必须掐自己。 整个过程都是过山车。“

生活改变现金

尼克现在已经能够利用这笔钱与妻子凯伦享受迟来的蜜月,同时清理债务并购买汽车。 现在有足够的空间来保存家庭将能够在未来几年中获得的收益。

除了现金,还有尼克现在给出的一些感伤文件,包括吉姆给救世军的一封信,要求他们帮助追查他的女儿尼克的妈妈,证明过去他们之间发生的任何事情,吉姆想要与家人的关系。

尼克会建议任何人更多地了解他们的家庭,“对你的家人好奇,知道他们是谁。 它可以永远改变你的生活。“

改变法律

如果Nick没有决定与Finders International取得联系,那么他收到的钱可能会转移到政府而不是Jim的疏远家庭。 Finders创始人Danny Curran解释说:“尼克的故事证明了至少要了解你的家庭成员的重要性,即使已经发生了后果。”

丹尼目前正在前往 政府请愿 改变英格兰和威尔士的继承法以匹配苏格兰,在分发遗产时,死者家属优先于皇室。 英国政府每年向无人认领的无遗嘱土地索赔超过100万英镑的土地,并交给政府法律部门Bona Vacantia分部。

丹尼说,对英格兰和威尔士法的这一简单改变将排除王冠在许多情况下是唯一的受益者:“我们从苏格兰学到了很好的教训,将庄园分配给家庭成员 - 密切而远程地相关 - 作为一个优先于丰富王权。

这篇文章已被刊登在 镜子.

Man Inherits £70K Lottery Win From Unknown Grandfather

reading time 3 minutes

A man who has inherited a life-changing sum of £70,000 from his grandfather, who he didn’t even know existed.

Nick Christou, 31, was raised his entire life to think that he didn’t have a grandfather after Jim Ross lost contact with his Wife and then their young daughter in the 1980s. Nick’s mother never discussed her dad and it wasn’t until his grandmother received a letter from Finders International addressed to her sister looking for relatives of Jim that he considered his grandfather.

Nick initially thought it was a scam: “I thought to myself ‘I doubt this is real’ getting a letter saying I might be eligible to my grandfather’s estate of around £4000 – £5000.”

“A man I never knew, not least when there are so many scams out there”.

“I left it a couple of months and while sitting with my Wife in the car I thought to myself ‘what if there’s something there?'”.

Nick, a McDonald’s manager in West Lynn, decided to pursue the claim but found that his grandmother had misplaced the initial letter.

Finding Finders

Undeterred, Nick was pointed to Finders International by his grandmother after she mentioned our name and the name of the case worker working on Jim Ross’s estate. After researching us on Companies House he decided to get in touch with us.

But it turns out that there was much more at £4000-£5000 at stake, which was revealed when solicitors accessed Jim’s bank accounts and discovered an account with £170,000 in it. Jim Ross had been a member of a lottery syndicate in the past that had been quite successful, meaning that the estate was far larger than Finders initially thought.

Nick’s share of the estate – from a man he never knew or was even told existed – came to £70,000. “I felt a bit numb at first to be honest” NIck said. “I let it sink in and I thought this could change our lives as a family”

“I have to pinch myself now. The whole thing has been a rollercoaster ride.”

Life Changing Cash

Nick has now been able to use the money to enjoy a belated honeymoon with his wife Karen along with clearing some debt and buying a car. There is now enough left to keep as savings that the family will be able to reap the benefits from for years to come.

Along with the cash are also some sentimental documents that Nick has now been given, including a letter from Jim to the Salvation Army requesting their help to track down his daughter, Nick’s mum, evidence that whatever had happened between them in the past, Jim wanted a relationship with his family.

Nick would advise anyone to find out more about their family, “Be inquisitive about your family, know who they are. It could just change your life forever.”

Changing The Law

If Nick hadn’t decided to get in touch with Finders International then the money that he received would have likely gone to the Government rather than Jim’s estranged family. Finders founder Danny Curran explained: “Nick’s story proves the importance of trying to at least know members of your family, even if fallouts have occurred.”

Danny is currently heading a Government petition to change the inheritance law in England and Wales to match Scotland, where families of deceased take precedence over the Crown when distributing estates. The British Government claims over £20 million a year from unclaimed intestate estates which is handed to the Government Legal Department, Bona Vacantia Division.

Danny says that this simple change to the English and Welsh Law will rule out the crown being the only beneficiary in many cases: “We have a great lesson to learn from Scotland which places distributing estates to family members – closely and distantly related – as a priority over enriching the Crown.

 

This article has been featured in the Mirror.